Frequently Asked Questions
1. Does Nevada have reciprocity with any other state or country?
2. What do I need to do to get my NV State Barber License?
After 1500 hours in an accredited barber school or another states current barber license, we require all applicants to take an exam that contains both a practical (shampoo, haircut and shave) and written/oral portion.
3. How much does the exam cost?
4. How do I get an application?
You can pick up an application at one of the board offices for $15.00 or you can send $15.00 plus $2.00 S&H to get one mailed to you. This deposit is non-refundable.
5. Do you have a study guide or law book?
Yes, you can purchase a study guide and/or law book from a board office. You can also find all the Nevada State Laws under the heading “Laws, Rules and Regulations”.
6. Where and when are the exams held?
The exams are held 4 times a year in Las Vegas, in the months of March, June, August and December.
7. What if I fail only one part of the exam?
You will only be required to take the part of the exam you failed at the next testing time.
8. What do I do if I have let my license expire?
You have two licensing periods to pay your renewal fee ($50.00) and the late fee ($50.00) to reinstate your expired license. (May 1, fourth year) After that, you must retake the exam. If you are found working under an expired license, you will be fined.
9. Can barbers and cosmetologists work together?
Yes, as long as the salon/shop has been properly licensed by BOTH boards to accommodate both licenses.
10. What will the inspector look for when they stop by my shop?
The inspector will be checking the shop license and personal licenses to make sure they are current. They will also inspect the shop and all the stations for cleanliness and sanitation requirements. It is always the licensees’ responsibility to make sure they are licensed, working in a licensed shop and following all the sanitation procedures.